Google is going to do a little holiday cleaning this week – but there’s still time to save your data and photos.
First off, if you regularly use your account, you have nothing to worry about – Google will only be deleting accounts that have been inactive for two years or more.
Users will also be notified multiple times before the account is deleted.
If you want to save your old account, doing any of the following will mark your account as ‘active’ and safe from deletion:
- Reading or sending an email
Using Google Drive
Watching a YouTube video
Downloading an app on the Google Play store
Using Google Search
Using Sign in with Google to access a third-party app or service
The purge begins on Friday, Dec. 1st.